Natural Hair
Leave a Comment

NEW TUTORIAL: DIY Fluffy Perm Rod Set on Natural Hair 

By Jackie M.

This tutorial has taken me forever to write up! My plans for this weekend, and the way my work week was, made this nearly impossible to complete but it is finally here! I apologize for the delay. Learning how to blog and what days will work best for me to create new articles, tutorials, and content is going to remain a process for me the next several months. I am a newlywed, living in a new state, just trying to adjust to my new life. Here is my DIY FLUFFY PERM ROD SET. 

  

I did my second attempt at jumbo perm rods, this time using a lot more perm rods, that I purchased from Sally Beauty. My hair was clean, shampooed, and deep conditioned before I installed them.  

Products used: 

To Shampoo: Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow, & Restore Shampoo. (See pic below)

 
To deep condition: Shea Moisture SuperFruit Complex 10-IN-1 Renewal System Hair Masque

Hooded dryer: Red by Kiss Ceramic Tourmaline 1875 Salon Bonnet Dryer

    

To Style: Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker, Jumbo Perm Rods, Denman Brush,  Wide Tooth Comb. 

   
6 Easy Steps! 

1. Shampoo-Rinse the Hair

 Apply the Shea Moisture Shampoo, which has extra slip, to the hair and rinse. I did two coats of shampoo since my hair was 2 weeks of dirtiness. (Yes I stretch my wash days sometimes and last week was no joke with #Blizzard2016, messed up all sorts of my plans) But yea, this shampoo is the real deal for my type 4a/4b curlies. I’m really benefiting from its moisturizing qualities. 

2. Deep-Condition with Hooded Dryer

 Next apply the Shea Moisture Hair Masque product. Make sure to saturate the hair completely from root to ends. I use a wide tooth comb that is infused with coconut oil, to detangle my hair. Detangle while the conditioner is in your hair, then cover hair with a conditioning cap. Next, sit under a hooded dryer for no longer than 25 minutes on medium heat.  

Note: this pic doesn’t show the conditioning cap but I did use one to deep condition. This is a pic to show the dryer I used. 
3. Rinse and Apply Curl Maker Jelly 

After rinsing the hair masque out, I like to wrap my curls in a long sleeved t-shirt for about 15 minutes to soak up some of the water in my hair.  Then once it’s damp I’m ready to use my styling product and install the perm rods. 

 

I applied the Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker Jelly, from root to ends using one pump per section of hair. 

4. Apply Jumbo Perm Rods

I had to buy some more perm rods because I did not have enough during my first attempt at a DIY perm rod set. So I used about 65-70 perm rods in my hair. The green and black colored ones. I installed the perm rods from the back to front of my head and I used a Denman brush to detangle from ends to roots.  

  

 It took me a good hour and 30 minutes to install these perm rods, because I have a lot of hair, and I didn’t exactly know what I was doing. So lots of trial and error on my first and second attempts at a style, of course! 

5. Use Hooded Dryer to Set Curls  

Maybe sit under the hooded dryer for 40-45 minutes on high heat setting. I like to blast the heat on styles like this to shorten my dry time. It doesnt seem to damage my hair, that I know of. 

    
   

6. Take The Rods Out! 

The simplest step, is to take your rods out and if you want coat your fingers with a little coconut oil to cut down on frizzies. I had a lot more frizz then anticipated this time. Still not sure what us did or didn’t do to cut down on the frizzies. So I just let it be in this tutorial, til I can do better at it…

    
   

Your Done! So now you can Fluff it Up!

 It didn’t come out 100% like I wanted, but I will say the curl maker jelly was very light and my curls feel very soft and nourished. I did have a natural shine in my hair as well. And as far as hold, well this style lasted me all of maybe 24 hours. Sleeping on my soft curls is still a challenge where they become limp the next day. So right now I have to put the perm rods in around my ends and I add a little more product to stretch the curls out a little longer. 

    
  This pic was the 2nd day after I installed perm rods.  



   

   

Below are some more 2nd day pics after I slept with my curls pineappled, and of course using a satin bonnet.    

    
  
 
Remember this is only my 2nd attempt at doing this at home. I know they are fuzzy but I think this result came about better than my first try. I will try them again someday soon and maybe I can get even better at it.

Don’t sweat the small stuff. Frizz is fabulous.

Stay beautiful. CW 💫🌺 

 

This entry was posted in: Natural Hair

by

Hello! My name is Jackie and I am a Curly Wifey who is new to the married life. I am originally from Naptown and now adapting to my new life in the Music City. I am constantly learning more about my natural curlies! I support other woman to rock their curlies with daily likes, features, reposts, reviews, and commentary with positive vibes only. This blog will be a way for me to share my journey of loving my natural hair, pursuing biblical womanhood and being a godly wife. I will share weekly devotionals from God's Word and daily encouragement for ALL WOMEN to embrace their God Given Beauty. I treat this blog like my digital diary. Feel free to browse the site and I pray you are blessed and encouraged. Thanks for the Love!

Leave a Reply

