Curly Hair, Natural Hair Tips & Trends, Team Natural
Comments 5

DIY Curlformers Set on Natural Hair

By Jackie M.

Hey ladies! This picture tutorial is my first attempt at installing Curlformers® on my 4a/4b curlies. I actually did this style for New Year’s Eve (NYE), earlier this month, and it came out cute! I did a shampoo and deep condition set, and applied the spiral rod set to my damp hair, after work, to be ready for the NYE festivities. So, here is how I achieved soft effortless curls, using Curlformers®.

  1. To shampoo: I used Shea Moisture® Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen Grow & Restore Shampoo. This product has incredible slip and moisturizing properties to it. I read excellent reviews on NaturallyCurly.com  as it was recommended as the top recommended shampoo for Type 4 curlies.  For those that are not familiar with the helpful hair typing resource check out this link Naturally Curly: Hair Types for more info. Using the shampoo made it very easy for me to detangle my hair while wet. IMG_2209.JPG

  2. To detangle and deep condition: Speaking of detangling, I want to emphasize that I choose to always detangle my hair while it is wet or damp to reduce breakage of my ends, and to accommodate its fragile nature. I have not read that detangling while dry is impossible, but most of the credible natural blogs, I follow, highly recommend to detangle your hair in its wet stage. Detangling is normally a dreaded experience by all Type 4 curlies but here me out! Using a wide-tooth comb and a superb conditioner makes all the difference. Pictured above is how I sectioned my hair after applying my deep conditioner of choice Shea Moisture® Superfruit Complex 10-In-1 Renewal System Hair Masque. I applied this deep conditioner from ends to roots, making to sure to completely saturate each strand and I used ponytail holders to set my hair in four buns.
  3. Set the conditioner: sat under a hooded dryer for no longer than 25 minutes with the hair masque in my hair, and a conditioning cap. The brand that works best and is affordable is Red by Kiss® Ceramic Tourmaline 1875 Salon Bonnet Dryer  (only $40 at Walmart). This added step makes ALL THE DIFFERENCE when it comes to really getting moisturized strands. The steam and heat help to penetrate the hair shaft, and my type of hair really absorbs product 100% better with the added heat. For those that are concerned about heat damage, no worries! This hooded dryer comes with four heat settings from mild to extra hot, so you can set it for what you are most comfortable with. 
  4. Rinse and twist: Rinse out the deep conditioner immediately after getting done with the dryer, due to not leave it in overnight, or longer than the recommended. You don’t want spongy curls! After I got done rinsing it out, I apply chunky twists all over my wet hair, and the wrap a long sleeve t-shirt around the hair to let it dampen, about 25 minutes. 
  5. Apply Curlformers and Set: After my hair is more damp, rather than soaking wet, I apply the Curlformers® spiral rods using the hooks that come in the styling kit. See pic below. Watch this youtube video by Mahogany Curls, one of my curly inspirations, on how to apply Curlformers to your Type 4 curlies. As a beginner blogger, I am still working on my video platform, and will start posting my own videos by this March. But I have no issues sharing the love to well established and positive role models in the natural hair community too! So hit like on they pages too. I decided to try Camille Rose Naturals® Curl Maker which was also recommended by MahoganyCurls as the only styling product to achieve this look. I used one pump of the curl maker gel, per section of hair. I sat under the hooded dryer for 45 minutes to set my curls. 
  6. IMG_2240
    IMG_2219

    Camille Rose Naturals Curl Maker ($22, Target)

    IMG_2245.jpg

    It was so HOT under my hooded dryer so I grabbed a yogurt bar to balance it out! LOL

    6. Final Steps! All you have to do now and take the Curlformers out, which BTW is super easy! Coat the strands with a tiny pea-size of coconut oil and FLUFF! I used a light mist of holding spray Shea Moisture® Coconut & Hibiscus Moisture Mist and style however you like. I chose to just let them be and of course since it was NYE I did my makeup. See pics below Girl you fly now! Curlformers ROCK. Follow my blog Curly Wifey for my tutorials like this one coming in the near future. Thanks for the support. CW
    1157406_10200306173434687_4293276439775612478_n

by

Hello! My name is Jackie and I am a Curly Wifey who is new to the married life. I am originally from Naptown and now adapting to my new life in the Music City. I am constantly learning more about my natural curlies! I support other woman to rock their curlies with daily likes, features, reposts, reviews, and commentary with positive vibes only. This blog will be a way for me to share my journey of loving my natural hair, pursuing biblical womanhood and being a godly wife. I will share weekly devotionals from God's Word and daily encouragement for ALL WOMEN to embrace their God Given Beauty. I treat this blog like my digital diary. Feel free to browse the site and I pray you are blessed and encouraged. Thanks for the Love!

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

